Need to know

Article details

Published: 27th September, 2016

Wagner’s Ring Cycle is so popular that, no matter where it is put on, audiences usually flock from near and far to see it. This is why (as in Melbourne) there may be several Cycles of the four operas that comprise the Ring.

CYCLE 1

Das Rheingold
Monday 21 November 2016, 7pm
Die Walküre
Wednesday 23 November 2016, 5pm
Siegfried
Friday 25 November 2016, 5pm
Götterdämmerung
Monday 28 November 2016, 4pm


CYCLE 2

Das Rheingold
Wednesday 30 November 2016, 7pm
Die Walküre
Friday 2 December 2016, 5pm
Siegfried
Monday 5 December 2016, 5pm
Götterdämmerung
Wednesday 7 December 2016, 4pm


CYCLE 3

Das Rheingold
Friday 9 December 2016, 7pm
Die Walküre
Monday 12 December 2016, 5pm
Siegfried
Wednesday 14 December 2016, 5pm
Götterdämmerung
Friday 16 December 2016, 4pm

Editor’s note: If you’re new to the Ring, be prepared for very long performances, but with breaks long enough to have a quick bite to eat. For example, Gotterdammerung is 6 hours & 40 minutes including two intervals of 90 & 35 minutes. Details 

 Some allied events:

A Ring Cycle always attracts other events, some very large, like the Richard Wagner Society’s Exploring the Ring with Heath Lees, a new series of pre-opera presentations at MRC on each performance day over the three cycles. Book through MRC Box Office 9699 3333 or on line.

 

Wagner in Paris a musical story with acting and narration presented by The Parlour is at the same venue, Melbourne Recital Centre at 6pm on Thursday 3 November 2016. Booking details as above.

MSO: Simone Young conducts Wagner and Bruckner.  December 1 and 3 at Hamer Hall. Read more. 

Watch for news of Brünnhilde Saves the World, a fifty-minute revision and adaptation of The Ring Animated that has been created especially for a school age audience as an introduction to the Ring.

(Editor’s note: Includes information from the Melbourne Richard Wagner Society, founded in Victoria by a small and dedicated group of enthusiasts in 1981. It aims to encourage the performance of Wagner’s music and to increase the knowledge and appreciation of his life and works and those of his contemporaries. Find out more.

To book for the Society’s lectures on the Ring, book directly with the Recital Centre.)

Latest information! Henkell Vineyards’s monthly Calendar identifies, not only events associated with the Ring, but other opera-related activities in November. Find the information and links on www.opera-events.com.au

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save